For research use only. We do not sell to patients.
Ionizable lipids / BIP-20
BIP-20 chemical structure
Product imageResearch use only
CAT. NO. DC68021Featured

BIP-20

Research highlights
Liver-directed RNA deliveryTTR CRISPR–Cas9 editingPcsk9 prime editingIn vivo escape-mechanism study

Pack size & price

USD
Total$650
We match the best price and quality on market.
Ships from ShanghaiIce-pack transportPure lipid recommended
Product overview

Description & Application

BiP-20 is a branched ionizable phospholipid identified as a lead compound for efficient hepatic mRNA delivery.BiP-20 is a novel, efficient, and safe liver-targeted LNP delivery vehicle. With an ideal pKa of 6.56, it achieves highly efficient liver targeting and endosomal escape primarily through the ApoE/LDL-R pathway. It demonstrates exceptional performance in gene editing at very low doses: for CRISPR-Cas9-mediated editing of TTR, a 10 μg dose achieved ~64% efficiency, which is 8-fold higher than the clinical benchmark lipid LP-01. In Prime Editing targeting the PCSK9 gene, its efficiency (4.30%) also significantly surpassed that of MC3, SM102, and LPO1. Furthermore, it mediates a 5.9-fold increase in hepatic protein expression compared to MC3. Safety assessments indicate it does not induce liver function abnormalities, showing strong therapeutic potential.

CAS No.Not available
Chemical NameBIP-20
SynonymsBIP20;BIP 20
SMILESCCCCCCCCCCC(CCCCCCCC)COP(NCCN(C)C)(OCC(CCCCCCCC)CCCCCCCCCC)=O
FormulaC44H93N2O3P
M.Wt729.2128
PurityELSD-HPLC>95%
StoragePure form: −20 °C, 1 year; In solvent: −80 °C, 6 months; −20 °C, 1 month. Sealed and protected from light.
Shipping conditionShips from Shanghai. Pure lipid is stable during ice-pack transport.
PublicationJozić A, Le Roux C, Kim J, et al. In vivo endosomal escape assay identifies mechanisms for efficient hepatic LNP delivery. Nature Biotechnology. Published online March 11, 2026. doi:10.1038/s41587-026-03022-6.

Literature-reported formulation composition

Componentmol%Role
BiP-2050Ionizable lipid
DOPE10Helper phospholipid
Cholesterol38.5Sterol
DMPE-PEG20001.5PEG lipid
Reported total100Source values retained
Formulation calculator unavailable. The study identifies DMPE-PEG2000 (C14-PEG2K), but does not give an exact average molecular weight or supplier catalog. Confirm that material before calculating masses. Do not silently substitute DMG-PEG2000. Obtain and verify the complete composition and component molecular weights before planning component quantities.
Not reported in the cited article
10:1 w/w is specified for initial lipid:mRNA screening; a separate ratio for the selected formulation with mixed editing RNAs is not stated. N/P is not reported.
Lipids in 100% ethanol; aqueous RNA in sterile 50 mM citrate, pH 4.0.
FLuc mRNA; Cas9 mRNA + sgTTR (1:1 w/w); PEmax mRNA + guides (2:1 w/w), with pegRNA:ngRNA 3:1 w/w.
Intravenous, retro-orbital (mouse research study).
Study-specific: FLuc 3 µg/mouse; Cas9/sgTTR 1–20 µg total RNA/mouse; prime-editing cohort reported as 50 µg/mouse. See endpoint-specific context below.
CD1 mice for benchmark comparison and gene editing; study animals 6–12 weeks old.
NanoAssemblr Benchtop or Ignite; aqueous:ethanol 3:1 v/v; total flow 12 mL/min. Dialysis: 10 kDa cassette, PBS pH 7.4, 4 h at room temperature then overnight at 4 °C.

Literature-reported performance for the cited formulation

Literature-reported5.9-fold vs MC3CD1; 3 µg FLuc mRNA IV; 4 h comparison, with 24 h also assessed; n=3 · Similar expression to SM102; not a claim of superiority over SM102Main Fig.1f, PDF p.3; text p.4
Literature-reported~64% indels10 µg total Cas9 mRNA + sgTTR (1:1 w/w), IV; CD1 mice; day 7; n=4 · LP01 required ~30 µg total RNA for a comparable editing levelMain Fig.1h and text, PDF pp.3–4
Literature-reported~20% indels2 µg total Cas9 mRNA + sgTTR, IV; CD1; day 7; n=4 · Separate from the 10 µg condition and 1 µg SI experimentMain Fig.1h and text, PDF pp.3–4
Literature-reported4.30% TTAC insertionCD1; reported 50 µg RNA/mouse, IV; day 7; n=4; see dose wording note · SM102 3.33%; MC3 1.33%; LP01 0.1225%; significance reported vs MC3 and LP01Main Fig.1j and text, PDF pp.3–4; SI Fig.S8, PDF p.10
Literature-reported6.56TNS titration, n=4; fit shown as 6.561; measured before composition optimization in the report · Formulation-dependent value; exact molar composition for this titration is not separately restatedMain Fig.1e, PDF p.3; text p.4; TNS method p.12
Literature-reported~8% at 30 min; ~6% at 1 h5 µg modified DNA barcode IV; LysoTag mice; n=4 · Non-lysosomal flow-through / (flow-through + lysosomal) barcode reads; not an mRNA transfection percentageMain Fig.2j, PDF p.5; caption p.6; explanation p.7

Three reported BiP-20 formulations

PurposeBiP-20 / DOPE / cholesterol / DMPE-PEG2000 (mol%)Interpretation
Selected for subsequent studies50 / 10 / 38.5 / 1.5BiP20-R; selected because the higher-mean BiP-20-19 group was more variable.
Initial lipid screening35 / 16 / 46.5 / 2.510:1 ionizable lipid:mRNA w/w explicitly reported for screening.
Highest mean in formulation screen45 / 16 / 38.5 / 0.5BiP-20-19: 1.72-fold vs BiP20-R at 4 h, n=3, p=0.0216.

Main PDF pp.2–4,12; SI Fig.S5e, PDF p.7. Component order is kept identical across rows.

Helper-lipid comparison before composition optimization

Helper lipidDLS diameter (nm)PDImRNA EE (%)Reporter result
DOPE~42~0.14~98Stronger liver expression; n=3 mice
DSPC~40~0.17~98Lower reporter expression; n=2 mice

SI Fig.S4, PDF p.6 (printed p.5). Diameter, PDI and EE are approximate visual readings of plotted means, not tabulated values. These are helper-comparison LNPs; do not transfer these properties to the final BiP20-R editing formulation. Fig.S4 does not restate full composition.

Mouse gene-editing outcomes

Cargo / endpointDose and readoutBiP-20 resultBenchmark / interpretation
Cas9 + sgTTR / genomic indels2 µg total RNA; day 7; n=4~20%Genomic sequencing; separate from serum TTR protein
Cas9 + sgTTR / genomic indels10 µg total RNA; day 7; n=4~64%LP01 ~30 µg for a comparable editing level
Cas9 + sgTTR / serum TTR1 µg total RNA; day 7; n=4~50% reduction; p=0.0093SI reports up to 40% indels; not a mean editing percentage
PEmax + pegRNA + ngRNA / TTAC insertionReported 50 µg/mouse; day 7; n=44.30%SM102 3.33%; MC3 1.33%; LP01 0.1225%

Main Fig.1h–j and text, PDF pp.3–4; SI Figs.S7–S8, PDF pp.9–10. Prime-editing significance was established vs MC3 and LP01, not vs SM102. Main p.4 calls the 50 µg dose both total RNA and “total mRNA”; obtain clarification before reproducing component masses.

Additional reported findings

RNA loading and manufacturing context

The microfluidic method uses ethanol-solubilized lipids and pH-4 citrate RNA, aqueous:ethanol 3:1 v/v, and 12 mL/min total flow. The 10:1 mass ratio is explicitly tied to initial lipid:mRNA screening. No N/P ratio or separate selected-formulation ionizable-lipid:total-editing-RNA ratio is given.

Main methods are reported laboratory conditions, not a validated product-specific manufacturing specification. · Main PDF pp.12–13
Endosomal escape: what the 8% measures

LysoBC yielded approximately 8% at 30 min and 6% at 1 h. It compares DNA barcode reads in non-HA-bound flow-through against flow-through plus isolated HA-tagged endolysosomal reads. The authors treat this as a proxy for extra-lysosomal localization; it does not prove that every counted barcode supports productive delivery.

5 µg modified DNA barcode, IV; LysoTag mice; n=4. Cargo and assay differ from mRNA expression and editing studies. · Main Fig.2j, PDF pp.5–6; qualification p.7; SI Fig.S10, PDF p.12
ApoE / LDL-R dependence

ApoE knockout nearly eliminated liver reporter signal, while LDL-R knockout substantially reduced it. These experiments support ApoE-dependent uptake with a contribution from LDL-R and potentially other receptors.

C57BL/6, ApoE−/− and LDL-R−/− cohorts, n=3; reporter expression at 4 h and 24 h. This is an uptake-dependence result, not a measured receptor-specific endosomal escape rate. · Main PDF p.4; SI Fig.S6, PDF p.8
Acute tolerability under the tested condition

At 50 µg total RNA per mouse and 24 h after IV retro-orbital administration, ALT and AST were comparable to untreated controls. BiP-20 did not significantly increase IL-6; TNFα was below the assay detection limit.

Single-dose serum endpoints only. ALT/AST n=4; IL-6 treated groups n=4, untreated n=3. No claim of clinical, repeat-dose or long-term safety. · Main Safety profile, PDF p.7; SI Fig.S11, PDF p.13
Structure and chemical identity

The SI identifies BiP-20 as O,O-bis(2-octyldodecyl)-N-(2-(dimethylamino)ethyl)phosphoramidate, formula C44H93N2O3P, MW 729.21 g/mol. It has two saturated branched C20 tails and a dimethylaminoethyl head attached through a phosphoramidate N–H.

Identity is consistent with the existing DC68021 SMILES and formula; product specifications are retained. The SI reports synthesis and characterization, not a DC Chemicals batch COA. · Main Fig.1c, PDF p.3; SI PDF p.51 (printed p.50); BiP-20 NMR/HRMS SI PDF pp.137–139
Literature Data DisclaimerAll formulation parameters and performance values shown in this section are derived from the cited publication and are provided for reference only. These results were obtained using the specific materials, formulation process, cargo, dose, analytical method, model and administration route described in that study. Unless otherwise stated, the data were not generated or independently verified by DC Chemicals. DC Chemicals supplies the lipid compound only and does not guarantee that customers will reproduce the reported LNP properties or biological performance.

The administration route shown above was used in the cited study and is not a clinical-use instruction or recommendation by DC Chemicals.
Cited literature for this formulation and performance datasetJozić A, Le Roux C, Kim J, et al. In vivo endosomal escape assay identifies mechanisms for efficient hepatic LNP delivery. Nature Biotechnology. Published online March 11, 2026. doi:10.1038/s41587-026-03022-6. DOI: 10.1038/s41587-026-03022-6
Primary article and 215-page SI reviewed for BiP-20. Exact composition and reported endpoints are separated from visual estimates and from the initial LiP/BiP library. Additional supplementary Excel data were not supplied.

Article and supplementary materials

Laboratory planning

Solution Calculators

The product molecular weight is prefilled when available and remains editable. Confirm solvent compatibility and solubility before preparation.

Mass = concentration × volume × molecular weight
Enter any three values to calculate the fourth.
C₁V₁ = C₂V₂
Enter any three values to calculate the fourth.
Preparing stock solutions

Quick preparation table

Solvent volumes update from the molecular weight above.

Mass1 mM5 mM10 mM
10 mg13.7134 mL2.7427 mL1.3713 mL
25 mg34.2835 mL6.8567 mL3.4284 mL
50 mg68.5671 mL13.7134 mL6.8567 mL
100 mg137.1342 mL27.4268 mL13.7134 mL
250 mg342.8355 mL68.5671 mL34.2835 mL

Need a different pack size or technical document?

Contact our team with the catalog number and requested quantity.

Contact us
Handling guidance

Shipping, storage and sampling

How is the lipid shipped, and how should I store it?
We generally ship the neat (undissolved) lipid compound rather than an ethanol solution. The neat lipid is stable during transport with ice packs, and shipments originate from Shanghai. Pure form: store at −20 °C for up to 1 year. In solvent: store at −80 °C for up to 6 months or at −20 °C for up to 1 month. Keep sealed and protected from light. Avoid repeated thaw cycles for best results.
Pure lipid or solution — which should I choose?
Pure lipid is generally more stable during shipping and storage, so we usually recommend the pure form. A solution in ethanol or chloroform can be supplied when required by your workflow. Tell us the intended application, solvent and target concentration so the most suitable format can be confirmed.
How should I measure a small amount of oily or viscous lipid?
Ionizable lipids are often oily liquids or viscous semisolids, so material can be lost during repeated weighing or transfer. For a small pack, dissolve the entire quantity and aliquot it volumetrically. For example, add 1 mL ethanol to 25 mg lipid to prepare a 25 mg/mL stock, then use a pipette to withdraw the required amount. For quantities above 100 mg, direct weighing with an analytical balance may be more practical. Always confirm solvent compatibility and solubility first.
Can you support formulation optimization and scale-up?
Yes. Share the RNA cargo, target tissue, administration route, formulation method and assay plan. Our team can discuss starting molar ratios, N/P ratio and scale-up requirements for research workflows.