For research use only. We do not sell to patients.
Ionizable lipids / A18B8C14
A18B8C14 chemical structure
Chemical structureResearch use only
CAT. NO. DCL0018Featured

A18B8C14

Pack size & price

Inquiry

The add-on covers all three components, supplied separately. A18B8C14 is charged at the selected pack price. RNA, buffer and formulation service are not included.

This component set matches a tested combination in SI Fig. S3a. The final optimized formulation is not independently confirmed here.

TotalPrice on request
Request a Quote
We match the best price and quality on market.
Product overview

Description & Application

A18B8C14 is an α-branched amine ionizable lipid developed using the photochemistry-based ionizable lipid library (PILL) platform. Its structure contains two secondary amines linked by a pentamethylene spacer and two ester-containing branched hydrophobic arms. A18B8C14 was identified as a lead for mRNA delivery; the publication reports higher in vivo expression with its optimized LNP formulation than with an MC3-based benchmark. The supporting information documents intravenous reporter-mRNA delivery, formulation screening, cellular uptake and endosomal colocalization, particle stability, and dose-dependent blood chemistry. It is intended for research on mRNA-LNP formulation and delivery.

Related products & formulation components

ProductRole
DSPCPhospholipid in the tested S3a formulation
CholesterolSterol component
DMG-PEG2000PEG-lipid in the tested S3a formulation
DLin-MC3-DMAStudy benchmark
DOPEAlternative helper lipid screened in Fig. S3a
ParameterValue
Chemical NameA18B8C14
CAS No.Not available
SynonymsA18-B8-C14; A18 B8 C14; PILL A18B8C14
FormulaC65H130N2O4
M.Wt1003.77
SMILESCCCCCCCCC(CCCCCOC(=O)C(CCCCCC)CCCCCCCC)NCCCCCNC(CCCCCCCC)CCCCCOC(=O)C(CCCCCC)CCCCCCCC
Purity>95% by ELSD-HPLC
StorageFollow the supplied batch label; protect from light and moisture. Compound-specific stock-solution shelf life is not established.

Study context and evidence coverage

The PILL study generated 275 ionizable lipids using visible-light photochemistry. A18B8C14 was selected for in vivo mRNA delivery. This guide uses the supplied 49-page Supporting Information and the publisher abstract. Exact optimized/SORT recipes and numeric main-figure endpoints await the full article.

Literature results apply to the stated formulations and test conditions; they are not batch release specifications.

Four-component formulation screen

StudyIonizable / helper / cholesterol / PEG-lipidTotal lipid:mRNAInterpretation
S3a helper/PEG screen50:10:38.5:1.5 mol%20:1 w/wDSPC + DMG-PEG2000 is one explicitly tested combination.
S3b ratio screen50:10:38.5:1.5 or 35:16:46.5:2.5 mol%10:1, 20:1 or 40:1 w/wThese are screening conditions. Helper/PEG identity for panel b is not specified in its caption.
SORT formulationsNot verifiedNot verifiedAbstract describes organ-selective delivery; exact recipes and effect sizes not assigned.

Source: SI S25 Fig. S3; publisher abstract.

Helper lipids screened in S3a: DOPE, POPE, DSPC, DOPC and ESM. PEG-lipids: DMG-PEG2000, C14-PEG2000-PE and C16-PEG2000-ceramide. N/P: not reported in the verified source. The total lipid:mRNA weight ratio must not be entered as N/P.

Component molecular weights and mass conversion

The following calculation uses the tested A18B8C14/DSPC/cholesterol/DMG-PEG2000 combination at 50:10:38.5:1.5 mol%. DMG-PEG2000 uses the catalog molecular weight 2507. Values are calculated, not experimental measurements.

ComponentMolecular weightmol%Mass per 100 mg total lipid (mg)Mass per 7.5 µg mRNA at 20:1 (µg)
A18B8C141003.775065.40498.105
DSPC790.151010.29715.445
Cholesterol386.6538.519.39929.098
DMG-PEG200025071.54.9017.351

Mass fraction = (mole fraction × molecular weight) / Σ(mole fraction × molecular weight). Total lipid for 7.5 µg mRNA at 20:1 w/w is 150 µg. These are input amounts before purification; recovery and final concentration must be measured.

Preparation and characterization

Step / parameterReported method
RNA phase7.5 µg mRNA in 20 mM citrate, pH 3.0.
Lipid phase and mixingLipids in ethanol; aqueous:organic 3:1 v/v; rapid pipette mixing. No microfluidic flow rate is specified.
Post-processingDilute in water, process with a 10K centrifugal ultrafilter to remove residual lipids/ethanol, then dilute concentrate in DPBS.
Particle characterizationDLS size/zeta potential; TEM morphology; RNA fluorescence assay for encapsulation. Exact zeta/EE values are not supplied here.
Apparent pKaFluorescence assay with a four-parameter sigmoid fit; midpoint at 50% normalized signal. Exact numerical pKa is unverified.
N/PNot reported; no value inferred from mass ratio.

Source: SI S20.

Experiment-specific conditions

ExperimentModel / cargo / doseRoute and timing
In vitro reporter expressionHeLa, 10,000 cells/well; Fluc mRNA 50 ng/mLSeed 24 h before exposure; readout after 24 h. This concentration is not 50 ng/well.
In vivo reporter expression4-week male ICR CD-1 mice; Fluc mRNA 0.25 mg/kgLNP IV; imaging after 6 h. Luciferin is administered IP for imaging.
Cre reporter methodAi9 mice; Cre mRNA 0.25 mg/kgTail vein; tdTomato imaging and 10 µm sections after 2 days. A numerical recombination rate is not available.
Confocal imagingHeLa; Cy5-mRNA LNP4 h exposure; LysoTracker/Cy5 Pearson correlation.
Hemolysis methodRat RBCs 1% v/v; total lipid 7 µM; pH 5.5 or 7.437 °C, 1 h; 0.5% Triton positive control. No unverified hemolysis percentage assigned.
CBC method4-week male CD-1 mice; PBS, MC3 or PILL-LNPIV; blood collection after 24 h. This timing is not automatically transferred to Fig. S9 chemistry.

Source: SI S21–S23.

Performance, stability and mechanistic evidence

EndpointObservationExperimental context / source
Lead selectionThe publication abstract identifies A18B8C14 as a lead and reports higher in vivo expression than the MC3 benchmark. The exact fold change and optimized/SORT compositions are not verified here.Optimized A18B8C14 LNP versus MC3; abstract-level result only; Not available in abstract. Publisher abstract
Purified lipid validationSI Fig. S5b shows stronger liver-associated luminescence for A18B8C14 than the C1/C8/C9 analogues in the displayed experiment; no image-derived fold change is assigned.Fluc mRNA 0.25 mg/kg IV, male ICR CD-1 mice; n=4 for S5b; 6 h. SI S21, S27 Fig. S5b
Cellular uptake inhibitionDynasore markedly reduces Cy5-positive uptake; other tested inhibitors show much smaller changes. The panel supports an inhibitor-sensitive uptake mechanism but does not uniquely prove a pathway.HeLa; inhibitor pre-incubation 1 h, then Cy5-mRNA LNP exposure 1 h; 1 h LNP exposure. SI S23, S29 Fig. S7a–b
Endosomal colocalizationNH4Cl increases Cy5-mRNA/LysoTracker Pearson correlation; Fig. S7d marks P<0.01. This is colocalization evidence, not a measured escape percentage.HeLa; fluorescence microscopy and Pearson correlation; 4 h general imaging protocol. SI S22, S29 Fig. S7c–d
Storage stabilityZ-average remains approximately 150–165 nm and PDI approximately 0.06–0.17 during the displayed refrigerated series. Approximate visual readings, not tabulated values.LNP suspension at 4 °C; caption specifies 30 days; 30-day study. SI S28 Fig. S6a
Freeze–thaw responseAfter the first cycle the plotted size is about 170 nm; subsequent cycles approach 180 nm. PDI rises to about 0.3. These observations do not establish retained mRNA expression.−80 °C to room temperature; four cycles; approximate visual readings; 1–4 cycles. SI S20, S28 Fig. S6b
Dose-dependent blood chemistryAt 0.25 mg/kg all five displayed markers are marked ns versus saline. At 1 and 2 mg/kg GOT/AST and GPT/ALT increase significantly; creatinine is significantly elevated at 0.5, 1 and 2 mg/kg. ALP is marked ns at all doses.Fluc-mRNA A18B8C14 LNP IV; 0.25, 0.5, 1 and 2 mg/kg; n=4. Blood-chemistry sampling time is not specified in Fig. S9.; Not specified for Fig. S9. SI S31 Fig. S9

Dose-dependent interpretation

Fig. S9 does not support an unrestricted “nontoxic” claim. Although the 0.25 mg/kg group is marked nonsignificant versus saline for the displayed markers, higher doses increase transaminases and creatinine. The experiment has n=4, and nonsignificance is not equivalence or clinical safety.

Structure, synthesis and analytical identity

The two secondary amines are connected by a five-carbon linker. Each arm contains an α-branched amine and a 2-hexyldecanoate ester. The structure and formula C65H130N2O4 are explicitly shown in S19. Four stereocenters are unassigned.

A18 (1,5-diaminopentane), B8 and C14 were reacted under 427 nm irradiation for 4 h at room temperature for this compound. The general procedure uses HFIP and catechol, followed by preparative chromatography. Formic acid/ammonium formate in the mobile phase does not establish an isolated formate salt.

Analytical recordReported value / interpretation
Average molecular weight1003.77 (SI S19); structure-based calculation agrees within rounding.
HRMS [M+H]+Calculated 1004.0103; found 1004.0117.
HRMS [M+2H]2+Calculated 502.5088; found 502.5067.
Research material HPLC96.00% stated in S19; S48 UV 210 nm peak table gives 96.005%. This is not a DC Chemicals batch result or ELSD-HPLC measurement.
NMR / mass spectra1H/13C NMR and HPLC S48; LRMS/HRMS S49.
Simulation50 lipids, Martini 3 / GROMACS 2024, 1 µs. PILL +2 at modeled pH 5.5 is a simulation assumption, not a measured pKa or isolated salt assignment.

Source: SI S12, S19, S24, S48–S49.

References

Chun S, Nam H, Lee D, Lee Y, Park CH, Lim C, Kim D, Park JS, Kim KP, Choi HS, Koo H. Photochemistry-Based Development of Ionizable Lipid Library for mRNA-Lipid Nanoparticle Delivery In Vivo. Journal of the American Chemical Society. 2026;148(39):42494–42507. doi:10.1021/jacs.6c13674. Article and Supporting Information.

LNPFormulation & PerformanceDetailed cited study data and component mass tableRead online →
Laboratory planning

Solution Calculators

The product molecular weight is prefilled when available and remains editable. Confirm solvent compatibility and solubility before preparation.

Mass = concentration × volume × molecular weight
Enter any three values to calculate the fourth.
C₁V₁ = C₂V₂
Enter any three values to calculate the fourth.
Preparing stock solutions

Quick preparation table

Solvent volumes update from the molecular weight above.

Mass1 mM5 mM10 mM
10 mg9.9624 mL1.9925 mL0.9962 mL
25 mg24.9061 mL4.9812 mL2.4906 mL
50 mg49.8122 mL9.9624 mL4.9812 mL
100 mg99.6244 mL19.9249 mL9.9624 mL
250 mg249.0610 mL49.8122 mL24.9061 mL

Need a different pack size or technical document?

Contact our team with the catalog number and requested quantity.

Contact us
Handling guidance

Shipping, storage and sampling

How is the lipid shipped, and how should I store it?
We ship the pure lipid with ice packs. On receipt, store the unopened product at −20 °C for up to 1 year, protected from light and moisture. Allow the sealed vial to reach room temperature before opening to avoid condensation. Keep the vial tightly closed after use. Follow the expiry or retest date on the supplied batch documentation.
Pure lipid or solution — which should I choose?
Our standard supply format is the pure lipid, without ethanol. Prepare an ethanol stock solution when needed for your formulation. Gentle warming and brief sonication may help dissolution. Confirm complete dissolution before use. If you require a prepared solution, contact us with the solvent and target concentration. The 1-year storage guidance applies to the unopened pure lipid; solution storage depends on the solvent and preparation conditions.
How should I measure a small amount of oily or viscous lipid?
Ionizable lipids may be oily liquids or viscous semisolids, so material can be lost during repeated weighing or transfer. For a small pack, dissolve the entire quantity and aliquot it volumetrically. For example, dissolve 25 mg lipid and adjust to a final solution volume of 1 mL to prepare a 25 mg/mL stock; 100 µL then contains 2.5 mg. Use an accurate pipette and confirm solvent compatibility and complete dissolution. For larger quantities, direct weighing with an analytical balance may be more practical.
Can you support formulation optimization and scale-up?
Yes. Share the RNA cargo, target tissue, administration route, formulation method and assay plan. Our team can discuss starting molar ratios, N/P ratio and scale-up requirements for research workflows.
How should formulation stability be interpreted?
The paper examines prepared LNP size and PDI at 4 °C and after freeze–thaw cycling. These tests do not establish the shelf life of neat A18B8C14 or a stock solution, nor retained mRNA activity after storage. Use the supplied batch label and validate the intended buffer, solvent and storage conditions.